Nominees for the Board of Directors & Other 2020 Election Information

Election Process

Each year credit union members elect volunteers from among the membership to serve on the Board of Directors. This year four positions are open for terms of three years. If there are no more nominees than positions available, ballots will not be sent out and there will be no nominations from the floor. The nominees will be declared elected by consent at the Annual Membership Meeting on Saturday, May 16, 2020. If we have more nominees than open positions, an election will be conducted by ballot to all members of voting age according to our bylaws (16 years of age and over).

Other members interested in running for election may do so by submitting a petition signed by 238 credit union members. (This number equals 1% of our membership as of November 30, 2019.*)

Petitions must include signatures and account numbers for membership verification. Petitions submitted must also include a brief biographical statement of qualifications, including the petitioner’s affiliation with NRL Federal Credit Union (and/or other credit unions), a statement from the petitioner of willingness to serve if elected, and career highlights. Petitions must be submitted no later than April 1, 2020.

Important 2020 Election Deadlines

Monday, March 2, 2020 Nominees announced and petitions requested

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 Nomination by petition closes

Saturday, April 11, 2020 All nominees by committee and petition (posted in CU offices)

Thursday, April 16, 2020 Ballots mailed

Monday, May 11, 2020 Ballots return

Saturday, May 16, 2020, 10:00 am Annual membership meeting NRL Federal Credit Union Alexandria Headquarters Election results announced

*11/30/19 membership = 23,758

Candidates for Board of Directors

Frank Herr, Ph.D. (Incumbent) – Dr. Herr is retired from the Office of Naval Research (ONR) as the Head, Ocean Battlespace Sensing Department. He joined the NRLFCU in the mid-1970s after joining the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL). He conducted basic and applied research at NRL until 1982 when he joined ONR. Dr. Herr earned a B.A. from Hamilton College in Clinton, NY. He also earned a Ph.D. from the University of Maryland. He is the author of 22 scientific and technical publications. During his career with the federal government, Dr. Herr was a recipient of the DoD Distinguished Civilian Service Award (2017), and was twice (2005, 2010) cited as a Presidential Meritorious Executive. He joined the Board in April 2008. He currently serves as the Vice-Chairman and is a member of the Executive, Asset Liability Management, Nominations, and Executive Compensation Committees.

Thomas F. Swean, Jr., Ph.D. – (Incumbent) – Dr. Swean joined the Office of Naval Research in March 1993 as a Science Officer for the Ocean Technology Program. In 1996 he became Team Leader for the Ocean Engineering and Marine Systems Team. In 2005, he assumed the duties of Team Leader for the Maritime Mine Warfare Team, and as such led the Organic Mine Countermeasures Future Naval Capability Program until his retirement on January 3, 2015. Dr. Swean attended Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, graduating with a B.S. in Thermal Engineering in 1970. He then entered Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, earning an M.S. in Aerospace Engineering in 1972 and a Ph.D. in Aerospace and Ocean Engineering in 1976. Dr. Swean has been a member of NRLFCU since 1981. He joined the Board in March 2015. He currently serves as the Treasurer, and is a member of the Executive Committee, the Executive Compensation Committee and is the Chair of the Asset Liability Management Committee.

Angelina Callahan, Ph.D. (Incumbent) – Dr. Callahan is NRL’s historian, providing research and analysis to the Executive Directorate, Research Divisions and outside authorities. Her own writing focuses on interwar drones, the origins of the space age, WWII radar R&D partnerships, scientific collaboration, and transnational security. Dr. Callahan joined the NRLFCU as a student worker in 2011. She received her M.S. and Ph.D. in History of Science and Technology from Georgia Tech. Dr. Callahan currently serves on the Asset Liability Management Committee, Executive Compensation Committee, and is the Chair of the Nominations Committee.

Scott Moran – Scott Moran is a retired naval aviator whose 29-year military career included tours as the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) Commanding Officer, command of a carrier-based aircraft squadron, and assignments focused on defense acquisition efforts. His experience includes work in program management, engineering, requirements generation, test and evaluation, science and technology management, business and financial management, logistics, and aviation. He earned engineering degrees from MIT (BS) and the Naval Postgraduate School (MS), and graduated from the U.S. Navy Test Pilot School. He earned a second MS degree at the Eisenhower School for National Security and Resource Strategy. He is also a certified Project Management Professional (PMP). Scott currently serves as an Associate Director on the NRLFCU Board of Directors.